Instagram now tells all your friends when you last opened the app

0
386


Image: lili sams/mashable

Instagram is now even more of a stalker’s paradise.

Everyone’s favorite photo and video sharing app has just added an “Activity Status” that lets all your friends and followers “see when you were last active” on the app, just like on Facebook Messenger. Creeeeeeeepy!

SEE ALSO: 12 awesome Instagram features you’re probably not using

When you open up Instagram Direct, the messaging section of the app, you’ll now see it shows whether your friends are “active” on the app or when they were last active on it.

For Instagram stalkers — don’t pretend like you don’t do it — this is change that’ll let you keep even closer tabs on who is and isn’t ignoring you on the app.

Did your crush just read your DM (you’ll know because it says “seen” underneath the message) and not respond? Well, by default, you can now see if they’re really ghosting you or not. The new Activity Status is enough to give Instagram addicts even more anxiety.

If you think this new Activity Status is a step too far, you’re not alone. Needless to say, there are are a lot of pissed and annoyed Insta users:

Fortunately, there’s a way to stop this creepy activity broadcasting: Go Instagram’s app settings (the gear icon) inside of your profile, and then toggle off the “Show Activity Status.” 

“When this is turned off, you won’t be able to see the activity status of other accounts.”

As Instagram becomes ever more popular, it’s also becoming more and more like Facebook, and that’s, to be honest, kind of scary. The reason why Instagram was great was because it wasn’t Facebook. It didn’t have creepy activity status trackers.

But now that it does, it might be time to consider deleting Instagram off your phone, just like people are doing with the Facebook app.

Https%3a%2f%2fvdist.aws.mashable.com%2fcms%2f2017%2f12%2f831b9e98 8172 97b2%2fthumb%2f00001





Original Source